All News

All News

Advanced Search
  • Ontario Takes Additional Steps to Protect Seniors in Retirement Homes during COVID-19

    TORONTO — Today, the Ontario government made amendments to the Retirement Homes Act, 2010 regulation, enabling the Retirement Homes Regulatory Authority (RHRA) to better support seniors living in retirement homes during the COVID-19 outbreak. The regulation change increases the emergency payment the RHRA can pay to eligible retirement home residents from $2,000 to $3,500. In the event of an emergency, such as an outbreak, this funding can be used to support residents to cover costs for transportation, alternative accommodation or temporary care. The regulation change also requires retirement homes to report infectious disease outbreaks to the RHRA during COVID-19 and beyond.  

    News Release | Office of the Premier
  • Ontario Opens Up COVID-19 Testing Across the Province

    TORONTO — As the province carefully and gradually reopens the economy, the Ontario government is implementing the next phase of its COVID-19 testing strategy to detect and quickly stop the spread of the virus. Testing will now be available to more people in more locations across the province.

    News Release | Office of the Premier
  • Support for Small Business Tenants and Landlords Now Available

    TORONTO — All commercial landlords in Ontario can now apply for rental assistance to help their small business tenants impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic. This initiative will keep more small businesses in operation and more people employed as the province gradually and safely restarts the economy.

    News Release | Finance
  • Ontario Takes Further Action to Protect Seniors and Staff in Long-Term Care Homes during COVID-19 Outbreak

    TORONTO — To further protect seniors and staff in long-term care homes, the Ontario government announced today that it is extending the mandate of the Incident Management System Long-Term Care Table. This table is composed of health care professionals who make immediate decisions to deal with issues related to staffing levels, infection management and resources during the COVID-19 outbreak.

    News Release | Office of the Premier
  • Ontario-York Region Sign Landmark Transit Agreement

    TORONTO - Following the signing of the "Ontario-York Region Transit Partnership Preliminary Agreement" with the Regional Municipality of York, Caroline Mulroney, Minister of Transportation and Kinga Surma, Associate Minister of Transportation (GTA) issued the following joint statement:

    Statement | Transportation
  • Ontario Moves Forward with Widening Highway 17 from Arnprior to Renfrew

    TORONTO — Today, John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, announced the Ontario government is moving forward with the first stage of widening Highway 17 from two to four lanes between Arnprior and Renfrew. The highway expansion, with four new interchanges, will keep families safe, connect communities, and drive economic growth in the region.

    News Release | Transportation
  • Volunteers and Small Businesses Step Up to Help Those in Need

    TORONTO — Ontario's volunteers and small businesses are rising to the challenge and helping seniors and other vulnerable people during the COVID-19 outbreak. Thousands of people are generously giving their time and resources to make and deliver food, run errands, and check in on those who are self-isolating.

    News Release | Office of the Premier
  • Hospitals Assume Management of Two Long-Term Care Homes

    TORONTO —The Ministry of Long-Term Care has issued Mandatory Management Orders appointing local hospitals to temporarily manage two long-term care homes for 90 days. Southlake Regional Health Centre will temporarily manage River Glen Haven Nursing Home in Sutton and Humber River Hospital will temporarily manage Downsview Long Term Care in North York. The orders may be extended beyond the 90 days, if necessary.

    News Release | Long-Term Care
  • Ratification of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF) Central Agreements

    TORONTO — Today, Stephen Lecce, Minister of Education, issued the following statement in response to the ratification of the final central agreements with teachers and education workers. The teachers' agreement is between the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF) and the Ontario Public School Boards' Association (OPSBA). The other agreement is between the OSSTF education workers, OPSBA, Ontario Catholic School Trustees' Association (OCSTA), l'Association des conseils scolaires des écoles publiques de l'Ontario (ACÉPO) and l'Association franco-ontarienne des conseils scolaires catholiques (AFOCSC):

    Statement | Education